Reviews for American Power & Gas

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for American Power & Gas are their customer service, with an average of 3.4 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 3.2 stars.


Recent Good Review from MKH.

Calming.
Hassle free.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MKH. from 10025. on April 23rd, 2024


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Calming.
Hassle free.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MKH. from 10025. on April 23rd, 2024
It was so easy!
I called to have the contact information corrected and John N. took control of the situation. All is good, thank you John!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It Was So Easy! from Waterloo, NY on March 26th, 2024
Great job
My bill was out of sight but with this service it has become much more manageable. Thank you American Power and Gas.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jayjay from Hannawa Falls, NY on December 21st, 2023
Easy To Use
It was easy for me to switch to American Power and Gas. Pricing is good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike G. from Valhalla, NY on December 21st, 2023
CJ
So far so good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CJ from Bronx, NY on December 16th, 2023
Recommendation
Had very good service, would highly recommend
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Morgan S. from Buffalo, NY on October 17th, 2023
Call on rates
John Neesham was excellent in helping me understand a few things. He was very professional.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stephen J. Cornell from Binghamton, NY on July 12th, 2023
TAX EXEMPT STATUS
JOHN NEESHAM WAS EXCELLENT WITH HIS HELP. HE RESOLVED ISSUE QUICKLY
AND WAS SPOT ON. WONDERFUL SERVICE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TOM CARINCI from Rome, NY on March 29th, 2023
Very helpful
When my prior contract with another ESCO expired, APG was the only company willing to discuss plans and help me pick a reasonably priced arrangement that met my needs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Best Offer from White Plains, NY on August 7th, 2022
Great Experience
Comms were clear and comprehensive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PASKY from New York, NY on June 17th, 2021
APG has good rates and does alot for the community
Got a great rate that does go up and down. I was upset that my rate went up one month. I called customer service, they explained the utilities rate went up as well. I was still under utilities rate and they still lowered my rate... Great customer service and account managers do thier job to keep my rate a very competitive. I also got a rebate check. They're awsome. They even donated 300 meals to families that were struggling in my area... Great job guys..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandy Brown from Staten Island, NY on April 16th, 2020



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
GOOD EXPERIENCE
GOOD EXPERIENCE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LED from New York, NY on March 7th, 2024
Very happy
Went through the list, and this one seem to be very good on returns so I selected them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bee from Indian Lake, NY on March 5th, 2024



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Smooth Transition
Great Communication
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ppatel from Middletown, NY on March 19th, 2024
Jennifer Boger
Very helpful with customer service phone call
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra Davis from Derby, NY on November 3rd, 2021



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Bait and Switch
Everything is great when you sign up and you're told your incredibly low variable rate will fluctuate but usually varies around the rate they advertise. SUPRISE - at month two.... 50% increase in supply charge. At no point during the sign up was I told this was an "introductory" rate and that successive months could get a HUGE up-tick. Looks like this is their business practice. Lure you in, then bank on you never looking at your bill and what they actually charge after month 1. The fact that they refunded me the difference immediately with no questions tells me this is a VERY common occurrence. I'll be looking for another supplier.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

-E from Croton On Hudson, NY on October 17th, 2023
Starts with great price
They give great price to get you signed up then they stick it to you. Every month my rates went up at .10 / kw i called they said would reset back to .52/kw instead it went to 12.5 cents per kw. Gas also went way up. 3 times the price if nyseg thats not right i switched back they wont get me again. Dont buy the rebate gimick, thats all it is is a gimick
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Horseheads, NY on December 3rd, 2021



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Change not implemented yet
I switched to American Power & gas in February, was issued a confirmation code, but as of this date (4/23/24), no change appears on my O&R statement.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marina Cramer from Slate Hill, NY on April 23rd, 2024
Service not good
Asked for a paper statement for my usage never recieved it
tried to reach Katlyn nappi, extension is wrong never got a call back, customer service terrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dale Stampfle from Katonah, NY on March 14th, 2024
Bad Pricing
Took 4 months to change electric service and after changing service cost more than $50 monthly than National Grid. Cancelled service in January and still being billed for their service 3 months later. NYS needs to stop encouraging the switch to other of service providers!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Renee from Sharon Springs, NY on February 24th, 2024
APG is a scam
They will offer you a low rate, then keep raising their rate until it is well above market value and make it very hard to get out of it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

APG Is A Scam from Walden, NY on November 16th, 2023
Worst service ever!
I used the tty relay to call them and they just hung up on me so i dont know what company this new business has been using and i need to install it and i will not use national grid due to rip offs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Deron from Hudson, NY on October 30th, 2023
Do Not Use - supply service for just electric 3x more than what I was paying before switched
Unsolicited phone call from this company, aggressive salesperson convinced me to switch to this company...falsely promised much cheaper rates. Not true, I am now paying 3x more than with original supplier National Grid in upstate. So far has cost me $312 more than I Was paying before @ .2226/KWH compared to National Grid @ .0715/KWH. (July to Aug 2023) with no change in my usage. I canceled and switched back, but 4 months later, still paying double than what I was before switch....takes several billing cycles to get them off...still waiting
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda Kemper from Mayfield, NY on August 22nd, 2023
Outrageous Prices - Almost Double Price of my local utility
I was deceived into switching my electric supplier to American Power & Gas LLC
With promise of big savings over National Grid in upstate New York. Smooth talking salesperson convinced me to switch 3 accounts. 1st bill I got was double that from my original supplier. Immediately called to cancel, I am now 4 months later and have paid $312. More than I was paying before with no change in my normal usage. I called them again and apparently they never canceled, sent me a check for $157.35. Less than 1/2 of what has cost me so far. I am a senior on very fixed income. Be aware if you try to cancel that you will be charged until your next meter reading date and will take several billing cycles before actually get switched. I'm still waiting and being billed their outrageous prices.
Rate charged by Am Power & gas for electric only was .2226 plus tax per KWH, compared to my original Supplier: National Grid @ .0715 per KWH. DON'T SWITCH
To this company unless you like to throw your money away.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda Kemper from Mayfield, NY on August 22nd, 2023
Scam Artists, Harassers and Liars!
This company continually calls my husbands cell phone and tells him to get our National Grid bill and look at page three. Like others, he tells her nicely we aren't interested, only to hang up and have her call back immediately! They keep telling him our electric bill has gone up 40% and that we have not responded to National Grid, and they are waiting for an answer. My husbands name and number are NOT in any way shape or form connected to our electric bill. So we have no idea how they got his information.

These people are harassing and scammers. We have blocked their number (which shows up as local and unknown) and I am reporting them to National Grid as well as BBB and FCC.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disgusted from Queensbury, NY on April 11th, 2023
Relentless Representative
I got a phone call one day and the rep asked me if I wanted to go over my electric bill so he could save me money. I told him so nicely that I was not interested. He kept going on (a little stronger). Again I told him that I was not interested. He insisted further. He asked my "why" and I told him again bicely that I was not interested. This was the 3rd time and he kept on goinf. So I politely hung up the phone. Well, he called me back and started badgering me. I told him that even if I was interested that he turned me off so much that I would never go with his company. He went on a further rage where I got really upset with him and hung up. A compny that has someone like that to represent them is not going to go very far. I also heard from others that you will save money for a couple of months and then the rates could go up as much as 200%. Stay away from this company. If they call you, just hang up. they do not deserve a second of your time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe S. from Brooklyn, NY on March 31st, 2023
Scam
Charging almost 400% higher rate than the utility company rate. Complete scammers. Class action lawsuit should be brought up against this company. Most of the reviewers here at least look at their bill. Most people don't have time to review their bill every month and are paying horrible rates and don't even know it. They have no clue that the Company increases its rates to almost 400% the going rate. Who ever runs this company must be a billionaire by stealing customer's money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disgusted from East Amherst, NY on October 24th, 2020
Do not use this company!!
When they pitch their service to you, they would tell you how great their company was, and how cheap they supply would cost you, in addition they would also lure you with rebate. Later they would increase the rate charge ridiculously. Do not be fooled
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin Kong from New York, NY on May 26th, 2020