Reviews for New York State Electric and Gas

The best review categories for New York State Electric and Gas are their customer service, with an average of 1.5 stars, and their customers willingness to recommend, with an average of 1.2 stars.


Recent Good Review from Veronica

NYSEG - Easy and Afordable
The account was easy to set-up and manage online. The customer service attendant was clear and helpful. I would recommend to anyone looking for a reliable utilities provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Veronica from Ithaca, NY on February 9th, 2017


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
NYSEG - Easy and Afordable
The account was easy to set-up and manage online. The customer service attendant was clear and helpful. I would recommend to anyone looking for a reliable utilities provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Veronica from Ithaca, NY on February 9th, 2017
Simply the best
These guys are top notch!! Always very friendly when i call and very easy to work with! The service techs are fast and very respectful, very affordable all around 5 stars!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeremiah K from Windsor on December 31st, 2016



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Very good service
I just had my gas meter replaced and they were very helpfull and explaned everything to me in detail
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Burrell from Binghamton, NY on February 8th, 2017
Good Experience Overall
NYSEG has a reliable provider. I haven't faced any issues with the quality of power and the billing since I joined in.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Neil from Ithaca, NY on February 6th, 2017
Good customer service
Nyseg was very helpful with an issue I had. They are professional and I haven't had any problems with their service. Overall a good experience with the company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mo from Harpersfield on January 11th, 2017



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Online access and website
The new website system is poorly designed. General navigation is awkward and technically unresponsive. It is simply terrible. Even with proper security precautions, there's really no reason it should be so very cumbersome. BAD JOB.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Interlaken, NY on May 7th, 2023



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The worst ever
I have lived in my home for 4 years and have never had an issue with billing and payments. Until, we got a smart meter and solar. I payed my bill as directed for November December January and February. I got a bill due the end of march for 0$. This was for 11/11-12/12 I had a credit of 705$. They credited me for December January and February. I called because Nyseg never gives you money back and I was worried the next bill would be 600$. I called and was assured that this was my credit for all the solar power we have generated. Even though it doesnt tell you anywhere how much they are giving you for it but I can tell you exactly how much I have generated. Two weeks goes by and guess what comes in the mail. The bill for 663$. For now December-February chargesall the ones you just credited me foroh and were billing 3 months at a time now? Do you want to set up a payment plan? Is what I get asked after two different representatives can not explain to my why this is my bill. I ask to speak to a manager and guess who hasnt returned my call? So basically you give me a credit and then say just kidding its not a credit. Now pay us a lump of 663$. If I had just been able to pay like I have all along. I wouldnt be in this disgusting mess. Nothing will be done because Nyseg does not care about the customer or else this would have already been explained and delt with. Also what do they care? Its not like they have competition.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allie from Vestal, NY on March 18th, 2024
Disappointed as Usual
House full of people on St. Patty's day, and of course we lose power as usual, there is no sense in complaining tho, nothing happens and you don't even get a response back from your negative review, I can't believe nothing can be done about the poor service. Nyseg SUCKS.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Beaver Dams, NY on March 17th, 2024
Horrible across the board
Weve been with NYSEG for over three years and its been a nightmare dealing with them. Service is beyond inconsistent, the power will go out for literally over 24-hours and their app will not provide you with any information other than assessing. Power goes out constantly in the winter, we have electric heat and its below zero IN OUR HOUSE because of their horrible service. When you call their system bounces you around and puts you on hold for hours and when you finally get through to someone they are only able to help you if there is a down wire and a fire in your front yard. Then, lets talk about their terrible website. Its horrible. They basically only take payments over the website and its always down. It always gives incorrect billing information, the hard copy of your bill will say you owe $300 and when you go to pay it will say $97 is due, if you pay the amount it says thats due you wont receive any messaging that you havent paid the correct amount (?) until the next billing cycle when it says youre past due. Then, they will put you in delinquent and literally make you pay cash through an even more archaic web portal that DOESNT PROCESS PAYMENT for days. Yup, you heard it, DAYS. I called to request accurate documentation of what Ive been billed and what I have paid over the past year (this seems like a reasonable request) and the representative said it would take a long time for them to get this for me. I told her I would wait and she put me on hold and then said they can mail it to me but it would take a really long time for them to send it to me. I told her to send it and I would wait. Its been weeks already and Im still waiting. NYSEG is beyond horrible. The worst utility company Ive energy worked with. I do not understand what is going on there, but they are literally the worst.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Worst Utility Company Ive Ever Encountered. from Austerlitz, NY on January 16th, 2024
Terrible company
I'm a disabled senior on the heap program.Nyseg over charged my heap account with there estimate usage. I gave there rep a meter reading ,they were supposed to credit my account. They never did.Going on 2 weeks. I called numerous times ,they are rude ,poor customer service ,in no hurry to credit my account. A terrible company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terrible Company from Delhi, NY on December 29th, 2023
Con Artists
I have been signed up to receive text alerts for meter readings for months now and I have no received one single text reminding me of this. This company is such a rip off.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rusty from Berkshire, NY on October 15th, 2023
Longggggggg hold time/ customer service horrible
I have been calling for WEEKS and still can not access my online account. I had my log in and PW stored on my computer, I switched computers and tried to enter my user name and PW and it says it cant find my account. I called customer service, held FOREVER just to be given the online # 800-414-1399. Held for an hour to be told "I have to transfer you" I am the wrong department". transferred me to an "internal line" and could not provide me the direct #. Held forever, by the way.. 36 minutes and currently still on hold. WHYYYYY is the hold time soo long and why can no one help me get logged online. I tried using the forgot user name and PW and it says it cant find me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Micah from Deansboro, NY on June 14th, 2023
IF it were possible to give a NEGATIVE 5 stars I would.
NYSEG's "billing errors" and "irregularities" have been creating a knock-on effect through many of its customer's households since last July 2022.

After numerous ludicrous $0 bills, even those of us who set aside cash for when NYSEG (and RG&E)'s billing system finally caught up to the current date couldn't imagine or prepare for the absolutely outrageous bills about to land in our laps.

In our family's case NYSEG had STILL gotten the amount wrong and after working with three different customer service reps we had $1,000 lopped off our still insanely high bill. I don't trust the current "amount due" and I will NEVER trust NYSEG again. Thank goodness we were not on Autopay when the first "incorrect" bill arrived.

If you or someone you know has found yourself physically, mentally and financially stressed and distressed by NYSEG's incompetence, please consider sharing your experiences with the New York Department of Public Service. https://dps.ny.gov/file-complaint


Rory M. Christian, the CEO of the Department of Public Service said in the following article: Ensuring customer bills are accurate is the singular responsibility of the utility, and this expanded investigation of RG&E and NYSEG will determine what went wrong and how will it be resolved. Our bottom line is simple: we hold utilities accountable for any billing errors and we will require the companies to hold customers harmless.

Harmless. Yet we customers are having to shoulder the real-world consequences of NYSEG's "billing errors." I don't consider having to pay an extra fee every month to clear NYSEG's mess from my account "harmless."

The link below takes you to a recent news story covering this mess.
https://www.lockportjournal.com/news/local_news/complaints-about-nyseg-bills-increasing/article_91278c64-f067-11ed-8f1b-576d44f34c71.html

This link is from a television news story's from January - giving an idea of how long this has been going on.

https://www.ithaca.com/news/regional_news/nyseg-cooperating-with-state-in-billing-error-investigation/article_85601872-8d2c-11ed-b79c-97fe8d16a22b.html#:~:text=The%20complaints%20received%20by%20the,the%20two%20previous%20years%20combined.

You can also file a complaint directly to NYSEG via this link. www.nyseg.com/support/contactus/submit-claim.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Felicity Green from Apalachin, NY on May 13th, 2023
Gas turn off
Owners of a three apt. bldg. Gas was turned off on a Friday (all accounts paid and current) to all tenants by a 3rd party. One tenant called 3d party and let them in on Jan. Owners never notified
Owner (me) about any issue. Called cust. service from Myanmar S. E. Asia to address this issue and cust service hung up on us.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

W. Brigham from Binghamton, NY on July 30th, 2022
Never again, worst in every way
Would need a larger box, just overall the worst experience with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Former Customer from Wilmington, NY on May 11th, 2022