Reviews for National Grid

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for National Grid are their billing & account management system, with an average of 2.4 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.0 stars.


Recent Good Review from Kathleen Kosek

Power Outage
I just wanted to thank the folks who worked so hard this last storm in the capital district 3/23-3/24. We lost power 6:00 pm on 3/23 and it return at 9:30 pm 3/24. They were working on ours for about 3 hours out in the cold weather. We were cold too, but we were inside. Big Difference. I just wanted to say thank you for all the hard work you do and that your are greatly appreciated.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kathleen Kosek from Latham, NY on March 25th, 2024


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Power Outage
I just wanted to thank the folks who worked so hard this last storm in the capital district 3/23-3/24. We lost power 6:00 pm on 3/23 and it return at 9:30 pm 3/24. They were working on ours for about 3 hours out in the cold weather. We were cold too, but we were inside. Big Difference. I just wanted to say thank you for all the hard work you do and that your are greatly appreciated.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kathleen Kosek from Latham, NY on March 25th, 2024
Wonderful
I just got off the phone with a miss Danielle from National Grid and she was so nice and funny and answered all my questions with kindness and respect! I hope they give that women a raise!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kimberly Sm from Buffalo, NY on December 8th, 2023
National Grid was the easiest part of moving into a new place
Utility companies and other assorted connections tend to be made more complicated than they have to be. Nation Grid was clear, patient and gave me all the time I needed, rather than adding another source of stress to moving in. The experience with tham has been simple, without hassle, and I certainly wish all utility companies were more like national grid.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

from on January 26th, 2017



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Customer service For Raymon
I live in Woodside Queens, NewYork .We had a gas leak long time ago on our apartment house it smells gas sometimes more and sometimes less and people on the downstairs smells more then us ..ConEdsion guys came and check outside on the streets and couldnt figure it out..And today someone downstairs call the fire fighters and they checked & they said its gonna go away just open the doors & windows for 30 minutesAnd later on the ConEdison guy name Raymon came & he fixed everything, he was very professional & experienced..He is very nice I thank him for his service!!! Appreciated
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bijaya Acharya from Woodside, NY on October 16th, 2023
National Grid
We have had no problems with our service so far. Bills are timely and clear. Service is consistent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leslie from Brooklyn, NY on February 22nd, 2017
Great service
This is really a great service ive never had any problems they always worked with me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lena from Buffalo on January 4th, 2017
National Grid Review
Pretty simple to use. Prices are fair and consistent each month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NG1994 from Buffalo on January 4th, 2017



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Fix Your Company
Supposed to get heat for my house today, Friday. Apparently the guys came and left. No phone calls. Didn't come to my door. Nothing so now I have to wait until Monday to have heat or hot water bc this company doesn't know what they're doing. Any way they can get money they're happy to do and they know well come crawling back because theres no other gas companies. Complete B.S.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Another Unsatisfied Customer from Ilion, NY on November 18th, 2022
Highly Disappointed with Service Termination Process
I requested in person a termination of service on 9/8/22 for the end of the month. Come October, I find out I owe money for 10/1 - 10/17. I call them and the first representative says she sees the request to 'maintain' service until end of September and then terminate, but it wasn't done until 10/17 when the new owner of the house decided to move in. She said it was clear and she needed to transfer me to the billing department for a credit. I get on with them, they deny seeing the request even though the first person said it was clearly in the system. I now have to file a dispute and justify. This is ridiculous. I have been a customer for 20+ years in various houses. This is not the way to do business.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy from Mechanicville, NY on October 18th, 2022
Use National Grid if you like throwing away money
I haven't had an issue with National Grid aside for the fact that they charge me more than twice as much just for delivering utilities than the amount I owe in actual utilities usage. My bills should not all be $100-$150 when I'm using like $30-$50 worth of gas/electric. I understand if there some amount they have to charge for delivery but what they're charging now is ridiculous.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Insane Delivery Costs from Albany, NY on April 25th, 2022
No good experience
Twice I had to wait 5 hours with no clarification of when the gas technician was coming just for him to come at 750pm after waiting 5 hours, in the car with my young daughter. It is cold and we are tired and just wanted clarification of when he was coming to not waste our time. But of course time wasted. They have to do better because it is not right.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ashley F. from Springfield Gardens, NY on March 3rd, 2022
Worst Customer Service Ever!
Customer service is terrible. Last time I called to question my bill, it took me nearly 20 minutes to get a live person. Very frustrating and makes me feel like they don't even care about their customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Blanca from Staten Island, NY on February 24th, 2017
National grid review
Too expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RS from Ronkonkoma, NY on February 14th, 2017



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

17 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
National grid is horrible
My delivery fee is the same as the cost of the electricity I use. So if my bill is $75 for electricity it's $75 for delivery fee for total $150. Do they deliver by truck ?no. It's the lines that have been there forever. Oh yeah which have been down now for 24 hours and will be continuing to be down for another 24 hours. Good thing they just charged me $75 a month for this service not for the goods. If I could get rid of them I would
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

National Grid Customer from Broadalbin, NY on February 29th, 2024
Terrible customer support
I have a quick question on billing. The hold time is over 1 hour and counting. Certainly, that cannot meet expectation. Show a poorly run company and why not, there's not alternative.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yada-Yada-Yada from on February 3rd, 2024
I can't even make this stuff up !
Moved into a new house, switched the electric over , don't get a bill, call multiple times still no bill , months go by while still calling, spending hours on the phone, find out they left my work order open for almost 6 months, they were charging it to my landlords bill , which I found out cuz my landlord accused me of not paying my bills and trying to leave it in her name, I told her it was a mistake and I'd call immediately, so did that and they can't even figure out what is going on so they're supposed to call me back , meanwhile even though my account was supposed to be flagged by a supervisor and they admitted fault and were supposed to be getting right on , well ended up calling back several times and each time no one even knew what I was talking about and would constantly be sent from person to person and having to explain the whole story multiple times and being treated like I'm a crazy person, again supposed to be getting fixed, meanwhile they started harassing my landlord with they're electric being shut off for non payment on they're home for my bill , at this point my landlord doesn't believe anything I'm telling her I'm thinking I'm going to be evicted, I call them to tell them they're making a mistake calling my landlord and they need to make sure they stop that immediately and throughout all this didn't get an apology didn't get a discount for any inconveniences or anyone to show me how my bill was over $400 every month and if I could have had a bill I would be able to decrease my usage , obviously I would have done something to lower it if I had known , finally get a bill I owe almost $2,000 and every month in the winter is over $400 and they want like $900 to not shut me off even though this is all they're fault and won't give me a payment plan unless I do all these things to meet qualifications which obviously I had to do so we made some payments before the payment plan and got it down to $1000 , so now our bill is supposed to be $10 more every month, but somehow they don't charge me what I actually owe plus $10 it's like $20-60 less than what I owe and that got added to my balance, now I owe them $1600 after 6-8 months of payment plan, they have gotta be the dumbest people I've ever talked to they have caused so many problems for me every one of my bills are a zero balance other than them everytime I even think about national grid It ruins my day , they screw the hard working families now I have to call again to fix all this which I'm sure they'll mess it up again somehow also I didn't use my heat or air conditioners the past 2 months but somehow my bill is $30 more when it should be $75-100 less , I can't even make this stuff up!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicholas from Niagara Falls, NY on November 6th, 2023
Horrible Company
I was given. 2 he window 8am-10am to turn on new service. I am still waiting and its 5:30pm. No one can tell you where you are on the techs list, apparently that is top secret information. This is Albany its cold and its going to be dark soon and all they say is the driver has been dispatched. No one is escalating the issue because the td not urgent. But urgent to who? Because it is urgent to methe customer. I asked for a manager and was transferred to AJ who was dismissive and not even trying to be helpful. I read reviews in several places this is not a unique complaint, they have to do better but then again why no one is making them. No oversight, bad management, and why is dispatch top secret? Who is monitoring dispatch?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yvee Rivera from Albany, NY on October 16th, 2023
No consideration on customers time
I made an appointment to reconnect my service, they give a window from 8am to 8pm I was supposed to work I didn't so I lost the day at work wich it almost coat me my job....the time now is 725 pm no courtesy call no nothing ..I guess National grid is not aware how hard is to obtain a job or keep one since our economy it's so good ????....now I don't know when I can't take off without get in trouble at my job ..because they can't give you a time ...since this is the only company probating this service we most take the abuse ..we are at this company mercy ....this is really bad
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ray from Rego Park, NY on September 22nd, 2023
Always no power!!!
Never have good power here. If they keep cutting off our power, they better compensate us for our food! No good rotten monopalized company!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Beth from Troy, NY on September 4th, 2023
Bill up
I have called customer service yesterday because they have given me a charge that I have not requested and that I must pay double or triple if I do not accept it. I only want to pay what I consume for electricity. I only have a new refrigerator connected due to the consumption problem and to save money from my pocket and they say that they no longer send the workers to read the meter clocks and that everything is estimated. In my opinion, they estimate too much with someone else's pocket.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jane from Buffalo, NY on August 23rd, 2023
This company states they don't care about people
Yeah, thanks to you, 10 tenants including section 8 tenants with disabled and tenants with young kids are spending past 4 days and no hope in sight without hot water or cooking gas in rockaway park, queens nyc. Buildings which have 1 meter per building and are landlord meters, buildings were sold and your company failed to get in touch with new owner, as new owners are slumlord and just llc entity. Even HPD cannot figure out , violations are going to old owner. But this is besides the point. Your company shows up WITHOUT ANY NOTICE cuts both meters off, closes accounts, both buildings total of 10 tenants in 10 apartments are now forced to take cold showers. You, National Grid gave great 4th July weekend. Keep in mind all tenants are paying tenants to the unknown llc new owner until now. When I tried contact you, you could not even tell me if anyone from new owners tried to create new activation of service. You went as far as you don't care its not your problem. This is how National Grid treats disabled and kids. You should be ashamed. PS - 112-22 rockaway beach blvd, rockaway park, ny, 11694.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Min Miller from Rockaway Park, NY on July 1st, 2023
Very Frustrating!
It is a pity I can not give them 0 stars. A maintenance job was done in our coop in Brooklyn NY today. National grid was supposed to turn off gas and then turn it back on. They did remember to turn off, but forgot to turn it on. Their next available appointment is in 3 days, meaning no gas (read food), and no hot water for 3 days. And I live with my elderly 90 years old Mother who needs to be on a diet, so we can not order food.
Called customer service twice. Spoke with Coretta and Jayla, no result. Shame on you, National Grid!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Izabella from Brooklyn, NY on January 31st, 2023
Monsters at NG
Dealing with ng is a continuous disaster.
I have filed 5 complaints with the bbb so far.
I just transferred the service of gas and electricity to my name of my newly purchased home on Monday.
On Tuesday they came and cut off the service.
Ng admitted to me that the person whom transferred service to me forgot yo cancel the disconnect order from the previous owner.

I explained that we have food in our fridge and that we need the service turned back on and they refused.
This is 1 of many instances of ng being a horrible company.
I own 51 apts in Albany and have been in business for 30 years and I can tell you unequivocally that you are the worst company I have ever done business with period.
I sincerely hate your company and if you heard the stories of these circumstances you too would hate ng.

I will keep escalating these complaints, only because I am being forced to deal with you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worst Cx Service In The World from Albany, NY on October 6th, 2022
Terrible company with terrible service
On hold for over an hour before i spoke with anyone regarding service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from North Tonawanda, NY on August 31st, 2022
Expensive!!!
100%, I would not recommend it to anyone. Super expensive. They charge me about $15 for only for delivery.Here is what I think, it does not matter how much you consume, you have to pay a certain amount of money (at least $80/month)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Babi from Troy, NY on May 23rd, 2022
Expensive!!!
100%, I would not recommend it to anyone. Super expensive. They charge me about $15 for only for delivery.Here is what I think, it does not matter how much you consume, you have to pay a certain amount of money (at least $80/month)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Babi from Troy, NY on May 23rd, 2022
Terrible
Very bad experience
my gas meter has been locked by mistake. A tenant in my building was moving away and asked for his gas contract to be closed . A technician from national grid came and locked my gas meter instead the right one. 3 days without gas and so without hot water. I called 6 times for solving the issue . i Had to take one day off from work to be at home waiting for a technician who didnt come. the 3rd day a technician Ian came and reopened the gas meter. He had to access home to check and he soiled the walls with his dirty gloves. I have now to whitewashing the walls.
no apologies, nothing..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Baptiste from Brooklyn, NY on September 11th, 2021
"How we make our money!"
I called customer service because I didn't understand about the delivery service and supply service price. She sarcastically explained the delivery service was for the delivery and supply was for what I used .I asked how they could charge me more for delivery than what I used and her sarcastic reply was "THATS HOW WE MAKE OUR MONEY!" If I could have reached through the phone and slapped her I would have.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Debbie from Whitesboro, NY on March 13th, 2019
Outrageous
Received electric bills in November and December for about $40, in January bill was $80. Two weeks later received bill for over $900 and no explanation. A couple days later another bill for over $1700. Told when I called that there had been estimated readings and it was my responsibility tocall them. Meter is outside so why estimates? Why wasn't I informed in November if readings were so high? ?Worker was sent to check meter and said there were meter readings but they were high and didn't get billed. Has anyone ever heard such an outrageous thing?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Barb from Dolgeville, NY on February 11th, 2019
National grid review rating
It's the worst service one month they are charging me $99.83 the next month they are charging me $179.10 I honestly think they just guess instead of doing an actual real reading
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helen Ojo from Hartford C.t. on December 30th, 2016