Over charging Rochester NY customers by 300 percent
Get off this scam ASAP, just switch to RGE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carey from Webster, NY on September 1st, 2020
Moving on from Direct Energy
I've been a Direct energy customer for several years. Upon renewal for the contract, I received a letter for my gas & one for electric usage. There is no place in the letter & or contract that says "To call Us to renew". I want cancelling so I thought, I should be ok where I am, and I will be in my plan. Well no, I was wrong. I'm on second bill that is sky high because of the new rates... Why isn't my supplier going to Bat for me? They are just squeezing me for more money. I did get $100 in a prepaid VISA to compensate for last months charges, but nothing for the same high rate again this month. Bastards. Can't adjust their billing statements? What a crock of crap. Buyer beware....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed_NY from Rochester, NY on April 1st, 2019
Keep an eye on your bill
I was on a fixed rate plan for my house with Direct Energy. When the fixed rate contract ended I did not sign up for another fixed rate contract and was automatically shifted to market rate pricing. Over time their "Market Rate" has crept higher and higher each month. My shop, an couple hundred yards from the house, is on a market rate plan with Ambit New York. The rate charged on my February bill from Ambit is .05902. The rate from Direct Energy is .174487. Nearly 3 times higher! So, what is the true market price? Is Ambit selling power at less than market value? I doubt it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave from Locke, NY on February 15th, 2019
Bait and Switch Billing Practices
Our electric bill more than doubled and for months we soul-searched to determine what we were doing to use so much power. Then I went online and looked at the rate we were paying vs. NYSEGs rate at the same time. We were regularly paying DE as much as 3X NYSEGs rate. So we switched back yesterday.

After speaking with NYSEG, we learned that DE lured us away from NYSEG a year ago or so into a slightly cheaper fixed-rate plan with a fixed term. We took the bait! Then when that term was up we were put on a sky-high variable rate. Had we stuck with NYSEGs low (and regulated) variable rate we woul have saved hundreds!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bait And Switch Billing Tactics! from Lancaster, NY on January 11th, 2019
Renew or PAY
I didn't renew and they put us on a plan that costs 14.5/kwh! They offered a $75 rebate. I think I paid thousands too much over the past years I didn't notice. My average bill is over $200, and I currently owe $900.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DaveyKilledByWatts from Victor, NY on May 31st, 2018
On-line signup with direct energy
In less that 10 minutes Kim had me setup for the fixed plan for electricity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Andrew from Binghamton, NY on December 7th, 2017
Direct energy
My experience was very good.He explained everything that I need to know.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carolyn Walker from Brooklyn, NY on March 16th, 2017
Very satisfied..
Everything seems fine.no problems and good service..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donald from New York City, NY on March 16th, 2017







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Direct Energy are their customer service, rated at 3.0 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.8 of 5.
5 Stars
25%
 
4 Stars
13%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
38%
 
1 Stars
25%
 
1.9 / 5
Overall
1.4 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.8 / 5
Order Experience
3.0 / 5
Customer Service
1.4 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.0 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Direct Energy

Direct Energy is one of the largest providers of energy and energy-related services in North America. With customers in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, and Washington, D.C. Direct Energy has also shown to be a progressive company, developing new plans, products and technology that deliver consumer insights and resources to help them save money. The Nest Learning Thermostat, Plenti and their personalized Online Account Manager are all tools that Direct Energy puts in the hands of their customers to use less energy. They're also very progressive, with active social communities on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest that help them stay in contact with their customers.


Recommended Electricity Plans