APG&E Reviews

It is worth it

(4.6 / 5)

  APG&E Energy Solutions makes me feel that it is very worthwhile to pay. I have been living here for 3 years, and this company is the only one I choose. The price and bills are proper for me.

Mandy
February 21st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

APG&E Customer Reviews

The best review categories for APG&E are the order experience, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.1 of 5.

APG&E Rating

New York Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About APG&E

APG&E, formerly Affordable Power and founded in 2004, has grown to serve thousands of customers in the state of Texas. APG&E is present and servicing retail customers in Texas, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Maryland and Illinois.

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price


41 Reviews for APG&E


electric ser

(5 / 5)

  good

gabaldon
February 21st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(5 / 5)

  I switched into a low rate and when it ended I went with another company. The other company dragged their feet which caused a month hangover. I called APG&E and they gave me another month with the same low rate.

Steve
January 5th, 2020

Steve:
Thanks for the review, glad that we were able to quickly help you out! Please keep APG&E in mind when your new contract with the other guys ends, as we love great customers like you!

APG&E Responds January 6th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

APG&E rocks!

(5 / 5)

  I recently signed up with APG&E for electricity service for my home. It was super easy. It took me under 3 minutes to sign up for service. Their price plans were transparent...no gimmicks. Very fair and affordable rates. Called their customer service line to check on my bill date. The customer service agent was extremely helpful and got me squared away in minutes. So glad I signed up with them!

Cindy in Houston, TX
May 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience, Great Company

(5 / 5)

  I recently enrolled with APG&E for my home in Houston. I got a great low rate without any gimmicks or tricks. When I called customer service they were so helpful and knowledgeable. I also started getting emails showing me how much power I use. This has been great. Overall, I'm very happy with this company and glad I chose them. I've already been telling my friends to sign up too.

Laura in Houston
April 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOVE it

(5 / 5)

  i have been a customer with APGE for 3 years and they have never dissapointed me. the customer service agents are always so firendly when i call and very helpfull they always find a way to help the customer out and bend over back wards to keep me as a customer satisfied.

Becky Harrison
July 20th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It is worth it

(4.6 / 5)

  APG&E Energy Solutions makes me feel that it is very worthwhile to pay. I have been living here for 3 years, and this company is the only one I choose. The price and bills are proper for me.

Mandy
February 21st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY

(2.6 / 5)

  Cheap fixed rate sounds good. Until you realize they run some wierd 20 day bill cycle so your bill is due a completely different time each month. Also sometimes it takes them 10 days to apply a payment and they will send you a disconnection notice and charge you a late fee. My last 2 bills have had 14 days and 17 days respectively from their mail date (printed on the invoice) and the due date. So basically I'm getting 2 bills a month from these idiots. If you do a budget like I do this company is a huge frustration. Also if you call them they say it's not their fault and blame their computer. Terrible company.

John
November 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good rates, but...............

(2.4 / 5)

  I have been with APG&E for six months. Their cash appliations is terrible. They have failed to apply my timely made payments for days / weeks and send me a disconnection notice every single month despite having my money. Although the price is good, the time spent each month trying to get this straight is not worth it. I haven't looked yet, but if they are reporting me to the credit bureau as a slow payor then that could be even a bigger issue.

Dennis Moon
December 3rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEVER A BILL

(2.2 / 5)

  I GUESS THAT THE SERVICE IS FINE, BUT AFTER SENDING OUT MULTIPLE MESSAGES TO THEIR CUSTORMER SERVICE I JUST CANNOT GET A BILL FROM THEM. THEY DO NOT SEND ANY AND IF I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT WHEN THE BILL IS DUE, GO TO THEIR WEBSITE AND OBTAIN ONE THAT WAY, I WOULD LIKE MANY OTHERS LIKELY BE FACING A DISCONNECT. I WILL AGREE THAT THEY NEED TO GET THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ACT TOGETHER.

KERRY SHIRLEY
September 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rude customer service rep and out dates equipment.

(1.8 / 5)

  I went onto the APG&E website and post-dated my payment. My bill was due July 6th and I post-dated for July 9th. Well they sent me a disconnect notice on the 9th. Apparently they can't see post-dated payments. Not only is that unfortunate, but it's stupid and out-dated. So if anyone ever asks me what I think about APG&E, I'll for sure refer them to Centerpoint Energy. Centerpoint Energy is not so quick to disconnect your services. Three days late, but had a post dated payment on file. Shame on you APG&E. I'm very disappointed in your company

Angela Simmons
July 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Varible Rate = Gauging

(1.4 / 5)

  When my contract was up and I ended up on a variable rate during the time I was waiting for my new contract to begin with another company, AP&G increased my rate for the last months bill by 100%. This is unethical price gauging. If this happens to you report the utility company to whatever authority governs utility companies. AP&G admits it did not send me a notice of a rate increase and refuses to rerate me at a lower cost for KWH. Such a practice places 'The Utility Choice Program here in Ohio in jeopardy.

Larry S.
February 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ripping off consumers

(1.4 / 5)

  I had a fixed price contract for $.0475/kw-h with apg&e that was expiring. the contract carried an early termination fee of $150. I decided at the time to switch to another supplier. since my electric company could not be certain of the exact date of the switch they suggested that I wait until after the contract had expired to make the switch in order to avoid the termination fee. for the month after my contract expired apg&e raised the rate to $.1275, a 270% increase over the contract price. when I called them about it I told them that I could not find this rate anywhere on their website. they informed me that they were free to charge me anything they wanted since I was no longer under contract. I did expect the price to be higher after my contract, but almost a 300% increase. c'mon, they simply decided to screw me to the wall. and the PUCO said there was nothing they could do about it. where is the protection of the consumer in all of this. I would have been much better off paying the termination fee. unethical practices that turn consumers against power companies.

joe
August 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from...Didn't learn my lesson

(1.4 / 5)

  I always sign up for a fixed rate and have been with many different providers under different contracts in Texas. This has been by far the worst experience. Their online interface is powered by a 3rd party company. It (the signup interface) was broken when I tried to sign up. I spent 30 minutes on the phone signing up (I should have ran the other direction). I finally got my first bill in the mail, so I went to sign up online for online account access. Unlike any other normal company, where you can input your info (ESID, meter ID, account #, etc) and create an account, you are unable to do this. You must call them, so they can create your account internally, then you are able to create an online account. Of course this isn't explained online. The entire process is a joke. Nothing on their site works as it should. I just got a new debit card, and of course their website won't let you update the auto pay! Every interaction with this company ends up in a phone call because their site sucks. I am astounded.

Wes
January 18th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Highway robbery

(1 / 5)

  We were customers with APGE for almost 2 years. When our contract expired, we received a call to renew and said we would like to. We thought that was it, but apparently, there was a packet that was supposed to be sent to us that never was. Consequently, they raised our rates to $.188 kWh! We had been paying $.6. Mind you, this is all in the midst of a global pandemic and in summer in Houston, TX. They refused to revise our bills to reflect the contract price we thought we had agreed to. Very shady business practices and zero customer service.

Thieves!
July 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They will triple your rate!

(1 / 5)

  Keep a sharp eye on your contract end date, they triple your rate as soon as your contract ends. Any other provider I have used raises the rates at the end but by a few cents not 300%. Avoid this company.

Matt
December 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip-Off Company

(1 / 5)

  They did not cancel my electric service as requested and price-gouged me for an extra month. Avoid at all costs!

Toby
July 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Company

(1 / 5)

  Beware! Company has predatory Variable Rate pricing when a contract price expires. Variable Rate pricing is 2X to 3X the contact rate prices, and they will begin billing you at this rate the day your contract expires.

PA Customer
December 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Company

(1 / 5)

  The customer service is the poorest I have experienced yet. They will shut your service off when you don't owe and will respond like an idiot when you request to go over the bill with them. Now I get a bill showing over payment of more than $600. The company has not contacted me to apologize or to return my money and with hat aid, the bill is still incorrect. I would never recommend anyone to use this company for utility service.

#totallydissatisfied
October 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrifying

(1 / 5)

  A salesperson came to my house. When I told him I wasn't interested he just continued his sales pitch. I asked him to leave. He continued but started getting really mean. I told him to get off my property and never return. He started yelling and cursing at me, calling me names and saying that he will keep coming back every f*ing day and there's nothing I can do about it.

Dangerous scam
September 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

know when you need to shop again

(1 / 5)

  They will charge you triple the price after contract will expire, make sure you know when you need to shop again! Better go with another offer, you will regret dealing with them.

Burebista
July 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...