Home > Read Reviews > Spark Energy > 1489015635038261163


Very Customer Service Orientated.
(4.2 / 5)

  Have been using Spark's services for many years now and have always found them a good value, costing much less than Clearview and other power I have purchased in other locations. Rates go up now and again, but that's no surprise as long as rates are still lower than competing power suppliers. I have been so impressed with Spark's customer service over the past few years that I looked for somewhere to say thank you. Health issues have made it difficult to keep my bill paid on time far too often. No excuse for not paying on time, yet a reason for having difficulties. I always call feeling awful and somehow they make me feel better before I hangup! Kudos!

Brianna
March 8th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying our lower rates for several years. We aim to keep our customers happy and look forward to doing so for many more years to come.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Spark Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Spark Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.5 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.5 of 5.


Spark Energy Rating

New York Energy Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low






127 Reviews for Spark Energy


Easy to lower mmy rate
(5 / 5)

  Switching to a lower rate was easy.

switching to a lower rate is easy
December 12th, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your switch was easy and hope that our low rates will keep you as a satisfied customer for years to come.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Service and Rates
(5 / 5)

  I am starting on my 3rd year of service with Spark Energy. The service and rates I have received has been outstanding. I have dealt with their customer service department and it too, has been excellent. Their rates are extremely competitive and I appreciate the fact that when my contract expired they didn't raise my rates like other companies do. Thank You Spark Energy!

T. Barber
July 10th, 2013

Spark Energy appreciates your continued business and loyalty. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are always happy to hear from our customers.

Spark Energy Responds July 26th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best buy and excellant service
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Am guessing I have saved about $2000 comparing to other South texas providers. My mother saves over a hundred dollars a month on her electrical bill.

RS lasiter
August 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Energy Company Anywhere!
(5 / 5)

  Spark Energy is the best electricity company
I've ever worked with. I've been with the large
companies (Reliant & TXU), and the smaller
companies (Yep), and Spark Energy beats them
all. The big ones charge too much, and the
smaller ones don't have enough customer service
experience to help you when you need it, and
can still be more expensive too.

I'm probably saving $25 a month on my
electricity bill with Spark, which definitely
adds up! The customer service is local, and
they actually work for the company too, so
you're not talking to some outsourced company
that can't actually make decisions.

Their sign up process is a breeze, and you
can't beat their auto-pay so you don't miss a
payment (they even give you a discount for
using it too, instead of charging you).

They also have a referral program so that you
can get $25, and they can get $25 too. All in
all, you can't beat Spark Energy - I won't ever
go anywhere else!

Enrique
June 29th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied with Spark
(5 / 5)

  Very satisfied with my Spark experience. Transition from Reliant was
simple (they took care of everything...only spent 2 minutes of my time on
the transition) Very good rates with no "bait and switch"

Jim
March 16th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased with the experience
(4.8 / 5)

  Have good website, billing, and email communication... and saved a lot of money compared to my previous provider. Never had any issues. Don't know what it's like to call them, because I've never had a need to do so. I'm going to try another provider for a lower rate now that my contract is up, but I'll return if my experience doesn't match up to Spark.

Daniel
March 25th, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the renewal plans available for your area. We are always happy to hear from all of our customers.

Spark Energy Responds May 17th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been Good to me
(4.8 / 5)

  Been with Spark since about 2007. No horror
stories, no weird billing/meter issues. This
seems like it should be a given, but it's not
these days.

Competitive rates, also enjoy the credit card
auto pay - not everybody has that, you know.
If you simply read and understand the
difference between fixed and variable rate,
are a person of average intelligence, etc., you
should have no issues with Spark sign up and
service.

The one time i needed an email response for a
question, I got a satisfactory answer in a day
or 2. It seems they really cared.

Been a happy camper. My only concern is that I
think Spark's Residential service may be coming
to a close for my Zip code (website only
returns Commercial service hits now on my Zip).
Hence I may need to find another provider that
can give me *everything* Spark has given for
the past years. Hard to do...

One Co. might have good rates but no credit
card auto pay. Another has cc auto pay but
consumer horror stories... and so it goes.

Greg
October 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Consistant Excellent Service
(4.8 / 5)

  I have been with Spark Energy for a long time. I don't even know how long. But they have worked with me on billing and I have even had an single individual work with me via email several times over email. Always very responsive and very helpful.

I am currently comparing prices now that my contract is to expire with them on 10/13/11. I have noticed now that they are way down on the list on "Power to Choose" because they are higher than a significant amount of other copmanies. In the past they have always been consitently at the top because they had the lowest prices. I am disappointed that I will be leaving them. :( Who knows...I might regret it later and wish I had stayed with them.

Nina
September 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

(4.7 / 5)

  Never had a problem with Spark for the past 3 years. Switch was easy. Billing/payments are automatic and easy to set-up. Never have needed to contact customer service.

G in Houston
November 12th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service and website
(4.6 / 5)

  I used Spark Energy for 2 years, recently changing
to another provider for a lower cost. I have
regretted my decision. I received excellent
customer service and never had any problems with
Spark. I wish that I would have renewed my
contract with Spark.

M. Dover
August 9th, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the rate plans available for your area when your current provider's contract nears the end.

Spark Energy Responds September 28th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company
(4.6 / 5)

  I have had Spark for over 3 years and love them. Great rate, easy auto pay and courteous customer service. I am paying 9.9 pkwh!!!!
Spark kicks ass.

Sharon Philips
July 28th, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Spark Energy Responds August 24th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company and great rates
(4.5 / 5)

  One thing I have liked about this company is that they value their customers. They provide a lower rate to their current customers. WOW what a concept.

Kyle A.
April 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rate Change/Billing Issue Resolved
(4.4 / 5)

  I've been with SPARK for 8 years. After our latest 1 year contract expired, our rate went from 8.9 cents per kilowatt to 12.69 cents per kilowatt in March. I experienced a $300 bill instead of a $205 bill which is a big difference. We were not aware of this rate change for three months because we were not notified. I called customer service in June and renewed it for another year at 9.1 cents per kilowatt. New customers get a $75 gift card and I asked for it. I was countered with a $25 credit. Also, they did send us an email on February 27 and we must have missed it or thought it was spam. When all is said and done, I am almost completely satisfied. The customer service rep did an excellent job on her end when I called. However, I suggest the following to SPARK ENERGY: 1) Post a customer's contract ending date and rate change on our online account because it is easy to do and can be automated. 2) Offer the same specials to your core customers (existing) for renewing as you would for a new customer.

Jack Gamble
June 28th, 2013

We want you to know that we appreciate your comment and always welcome feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how were doing and what you feel we should work on.

Spark Energy Responds July 26th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

spark energy
(4.4 / 5)

  Spark energy is a good electricity company!

Anonymous
June 15th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliable
(4.4 / 5)

  I switched to Spark and have begun my third contract. They are competitive but like many there pricing does not guarantee renewal. I will buy from another Company if it is 10% better.

Deregulation screwed consumers in Texas.

Peter J Sawyer
February 21st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy
(4.4 / 5)

  I have has Spark Energy for two years with no complaints. Easy billing process and the best rates with no promotions or gimmicks. I would recommend Spark Energy to my friends. Easy renewal process and I used a promo code to save even more.

Jim Simon
October 29th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Simple, Cheap, No Problems
(4.3 / 5)

  I've had Spark a couple years over the past
several and I like them very well. Their plans
were easy to understand, competitively priced, and
they had competent customer service, not that I
needed much. Their website has improved since the
last time I used them and they got auto-billing
set up right away.

MYOB
September 17th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solid Energy Company
(4.3 / 5)

  Solid way to save some money. Easy to sign up, no early termination fee.
Pretty good overall.

George
April 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Haven't had problems
(4.3 / 5)

  Can't say i've had any problems with spark... my
bill is about 10% cheaper now that i've switched
after deregulation

John Armstrong
March 6th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Customer Service Orientated.
(4.2 / 5)

  Have been using Spark's services for many years now and have always found them a good value, costing much less than Clearview and other power I have purchased in other locations. Rates go up now and again, but that's no surprise as long as rates are still lower than competing power suppliers. I have been so impressed with Spark's customer service over the past few years that I looked for somewhere to say thank you. Health issues have made it difficult to keep my bill paid on time far too often. No excuse for not paying on time, yet a reason for having difficulties. I always call feeling awful and somehow they make me feel better before I hangup! Kudos!

Brianna
March 8th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying our lower rates for several years. We aim to keep our customers happy and look forward to doing so for many more years to come.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Updated: 04-25-2018
Example Bill
loading...