Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Public Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.9 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 3.9 of 5.
5 Stars
83%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
33%
 


Jump To

Review from Easy switch

Easy transfer
My previous provider gave short notice of termination.
The switch to Public was fast enough to avoid a problem, with only a few key strokes on my computer.
The prices also were lower than I was paying previously.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy Switch from Hartsdale, NY on July 19th, 2020


Recent Good Review from Easy switch

Easy transfer
My previous provider gave short notice of termination.
The switch to Public was fast enough to avoid a problem, with only a few key strokes on my computer.
The prices also were lower than I was paying previously.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy Switch from Hartsdale, NY on July 19th, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Easy transfer
My previous provider gave short notice of termination.
The switch to Public was fast enough to avoid a problem, with only a few key strokes on my computer.
The prices also were lower than I was paying previously.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy Switch from Hartsdale, NY on July 19th, 2020
Excellent price and service
Best price by far of any choice, easy to order, 2 year term, never any issues
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DR from Wassaic, NY on November 13th, 2019
PUBLIC POWER REVIEW
BACK IN FEB.,AFTER MUCH TIME SEARCHING FOR A NEW PROVIDER, I DECIDED TO USE PUBLIC POWER AS MY NEW SUPPLIER FOR BOTH MY GAS AND ELECTRIC NEEDS. YESTERDAY I FINALLY RECEIVED MY FIRST BILLING FOR THE PERIOD FROM MAY 5, TO MAY 25 . IT'S A GOOD START TO, HOPEFULLY, DOING BUSINESS PUBLIC POWER.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DAVID LAUSTER from Lyons, NY on June 6th, 2018
So far so good
Only one month but everything so far as promised
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Wassaic, NY on May 26th, 2018
Good Price, Renewable, No penalties
Remarkable company because there are no huge fees, my bill is lower than most of my neighbors, and the best part is it is renewable energy. Kudos !!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CT-4-LIFE_NEw-ENGLAND_PATS from Greenwich, CT on March 22nd, 2017



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Would not choose Public Power
I had received an offer from Public Power to renew at 0.0849 kWh, which was 50% higher than I had currently been paying. I went online at (Choose Energy - NY Energy Ratings), and found a lower rate by Public Power on 7/3/18. On 7/5, I received an email confirmation from NY Energy Ratings that they had received my order with Public Power with new rate of 5.33. In August, I received an email from Public Power regarding my renewal, I called and spoke about the rate I had locked in on 7/5. The customer service rep, told me to disregard the mail for renewal. I just received my National Grid bill, and my electric bill is $30 higher than last month, because I'm being charged 0.0849. I just spoke with a customer service rep, who was very difficult to understand - who told me that I wasn't eligible to sign up with Public Power at the lower rate in July, because I wasn't a new customer. I never received any notice of this! She then offered me two other rates that were still significantly higher, and told me that I would have to pay a $100 fee if I chose another company.... I'm looking elsewhere....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlene from Ballston Spa, NY on September 24th, 2018
Bait and Switch
We signed up a contract with Public Power as our natural gas supplier. It is for a fixed 12 months term with an early termination fee of $50. A few months have passed and we received a letter that they will charge us a minimum usage fee of $5.00 in which our average daily usage is less than 0.1 therms/day. We conserve on our electricity and gas since I am not working and on permanent disability. Our total monthly supply gas charge is only $0.94. I contacted Public Power and stated that it was not in the contract when we signed up. Unfortunately, we will now be charged extra fee for trying to conserve.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maria from Flushing, NY on September 17th, 2018



All Public Power Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
12 Month Plan
12 month
Fixed Rate
8.09¢ / kwh
  • Rates are for new customers only
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    9.99¢ / kwh
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    8.39¢ / kwh
  • Rates are for new customers only
  • 48 Month Fixed Rate
    48 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.99¢ / kwh
    60 Month Fixed Rate
    60 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.99¢ / kwh